Postiche – Facial Hair Final Assessment

Hi guys! So recently I have been really busy completing media make-up assessments so I thought I’d right a quick description for our first task for those of you that may be interested! For our first media task we were asked to construct a hand knotted facial hair piece that we then had to apply onto a male model. Here is some images of my final assessment including how I applied and removed the facial Postiche, the products I used and a evaluation of how it all went!

2013-11-13 18.20.41 1424486_10151987310769339_789697121_n

Products used:
Face:
-Illamasqua, matte primer – Apply all over the skin using a flat foundation brush.
-Glynn Mckay, bruse gel (red) – Stipple a small amount onto the cheeks with orange stippling sponge and blend the product into the skin to give the appearance of rosier cheeks, This will also give the appearance of broken blood vessels under the skins surface to age the skin slightly.
Moustache:
-The first step to applying the moustache is to ensure the skin is grease free by gently applying a toner in a sweeping motion.
-Next apply a matte spirit gum to the skin and tap it with your finger until the surface becomes sticky.
-Once the spirit gum is sticky enough place the moustache into place and press it down with a damp cloth or sponge.

Applying:

  • The first step to applying the moustache is to ensure the skin is grease free by gently applying a toner in a sweeping motion.
  • Next apply a matte spirit gum to the skin and tap it with your finger until the surface becomes sticky.
  • Once the spirit gum is sticky enough place the moustache into place and press it down with a damp cloth or sponge.
  • Once applied comb and style the moustache as desired.

Removing:

  • Using a mild spirit gum remover or surgical spirit on a brush gently work away at the edges of the lace until each edge comes loose.
  • Gently peel away the moustache
  • Use the same product to remove the remainder of the spirit gum from the skin
  • To clean the moustache  and lace use small amount of acetone
  • Then the moustache is ready to be reused

Postiche (Task one) Evaluation:
At first I struggled with the hair knotting however the more I knotted the quicker and neater I got. At first I was not able to knot hair flat as it would often stick up which would result in an unrealistic effect. However I was able to adjust my technique to drag the hair down into the right direction to make the knot sit flat against the lace. After I was happy with the knotting technique I began knotting my moustache. I tried to make the notes as small as possible to make it look more natural on the skin. I had noticed that surprisingly the blonde knots were more visible so I had to make sure to mix a strand of brown in with each not to break it up a little bit. I was surprised how quickly the moustache came together as I knotted at two to three hours at a time.

I originally didn’t want to put any make-up on my model as any natural dark circles or skin imperfections would only add to the look of my character. However I did decide on using a matte primer which would eliminate any shine which will be beneficial when I take the final photographs. I also looked into skin conditions such as rosacea and thread veins to try and age my character to make it look a little rougher around the edges. However the product that I had chosen to use (Glynn Mckay bruise gel in red) was not suitable as it give a healthy flush to the cheeks making him look more youthful which was the opposite of what I wanted. If I was to do this again I would experiment with different products and colours to get a better result. Maybe introduce some different colours such as purples and maybe even a little blue to give more depth. Skin illustrators may also be a better product to use as you can gradually build up the colour without it looking like it laid on the surface of the skin.

Applying the moustache to my model was surprisingly easy as it fitted him perfectly as I had used the pattern I had taken of his face. To find out the best way to apply the moustache I carried out some research which helped me. The moustache adhered really well as I had rolled a clean brush handle over the spirit gum to make the surface sticker. Overall apart from the bruise gel application I am really pleased with the overall application of the moustache and the general look of my character.

Thanks for visiting my blog! 

Katy xx

Leave a Reply

