Basic Pattern Making For Postiche

In today’s Postiche lesson we were taught the basics. We started by making a pattern using plastic wrap (cling film) and sticky tape. This was really cheap and easy to do.

KathrenElizabethmake-up

First we began by cutting strips of sticky tape in preparation for the next step. We then laid a piece of plastic wrap under the models nose making sure not to obstruct the nostrils. I then asked my model to hold it in place so I was able to place strips of tape over the plastic wrap to strengthen it. This would also help the plastic take the shape of my models face.

2013-10-09 15.41.50

Once I was satisfied with the strength of the plastic I then used a black marker to draw out the shape of my models lips. I also drew on two dots to locate the position of the nostrils. I then roughly drew out a mustache (as this was only a practice, I’d be a bit more precise in future).

2013-10-09 15.43.57

This technique then allows you to cut around your design and use it as a guide when making your prostiche.

2013-10-09 15.57.44

Thats it, its done.  Told you it was easy!
Stay tuned for my next post on making a start on hand knotting hair for a postiche pieces.

Thanks for visiting! 

Katy x

Reflection / Evaluation:
This technique ran smoothly however if I was to do this again I would perhaps use more strips of tape the strengthen the pattern before removing it from my models face. I would have also drawn on the mustache a little neater but as this was just a practice it didn’t matter too much. To get it more symmetrical I could draw one side of the mustache and then fold the pattern in half and copy it to the other side as the cling film is see through.

Leave a Reply

