Drag Make-up

combinations 1

I was really bored one day and had been watching far too much of ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ so I decided to try my best to recreate a drag look just for a bit of fun. The look consisted of heavy eye make-up and dramatic contouring and highlighting. I would like to do another drag look and maybe go crazier with colour and possibly even glitter!

First I began by cleansing and moisturising my face – I’m pretty certain you guys will know how to do this but if you would like a detailed tutorial of how to do this just click the following link!  – https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/cleansing-toning-and-moisturising/

DSCF0005

Once my skin was prepared for the heavy makeup I was about to apply I would usually apply a primer for extra staying power but as I wasn’t going to be wearing this look for long I skipped this step. For this look I wanted to try and cover my eyebrows so I could draw on some higher more exaggerated ones. This would allow me to create a more extreme look as it gives me more space to apply heavy eye make-up as I naturally have hooded eyelids. For this I applied four to five thick layers of cheap washable glue to my natural brows using a spatula to smooth out each layer. It also helps to apply a light layer of powder between each layer this stops it from smudging the underneath layer. Once I was satisfied with this stage I went on to apply a rose coloured grease paint to colour correct the dark grey undertone. Finally I applied a heavy concealer and a translucent powder to set the products in place.

I then applied heavy contouring using Kryolan Greasepaint for an in depth tutorial on heavy contouring click the following link – https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/large-theatre-make-up/

DSCF0010

Once I was happy with the base I was then able to be creative and roughly sketch out some ideas and have a play around with brow shape and eye make-up.

combineeeI made sure to exaggerate my lips by drawing over the natural lip line to create a fuller pouted lip as naturally my lower lip is much larger than my upper lip.

1000235_10151766305239339_1156368597_n

Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂
Let me know if you have any questions about the look or even if you have any tips to help me that would be great! This being my first attempt and all! 

Thanks again, Katy x

One thought on “Drag Make-up

  1. Pingback: Glatzan – Brow blocking Experiment (Gone wrong!) | Kathren Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

