Making Scar Trays

In my last lesson of Special effects I began making a scar tray to create prosthetics for my final assessment make-up look. These are a really good way in creating the same scar, cut or burn for an actor to kept continuity at its best as you can make several prosthetic pieces from the same cast. Here is some pictures to show the first few stages of the process..

1365960211271

This was what I used for the sculpt I was going to turn into a scar tray.  I found this clay really hard and quite hard to work with however the more you warmed it up with you hands the easier it was to manipulate. Although it was possible to work with this clay I would refer to used a softer clay that is easier to use as it just made the process of sculpting longer and more difficult.

1365960208443

To warm up the clay I rolled it into sausage shapes and rolled it through my hands to alter the consistency of the clay using my body temperature. Once I was happy with the smoothness of the clay I then was able to start sculpting.

1365957410675

I placed the clay onto a smooth dry surface (I used a glass tile) I found it difficult to smooth the clay out so I used the handle of my sculpting tools to roll out the clay to get a smooth surface to make the sculpting that little bit easier.

1365957345064

I made sure the edges of my sculpt blended into the glass surface to make applying the prostetic that much easier as I wouldn’t have t spend time blending away thick hard edges. Once I was happy with my sculpt I then used the same clay to build up a wall around it to prevent the plaster leaking over the edges and making a big mess. I unfortunately learned this the hard way when I was first experimenting with making pottery casts for my A levels. It was extremely messy!

Making the scar tray was simpler than expected however I did struggle with the toughness of the Newplast however I found that warming it up and rolling it out give better results as it prevented it from crumbling and tearing beneath my fingers. Overall I think this part of the process went quite well however the real test of the tray will be making the actual prosthetic and seeing how it applies to my model.

I’ll post later about the next stages of making scar trays after next weeks lesson!

Thanks for reading!

Katy x

Leave a Reply

