Making Bald Caps

1365959552599

In my last special effects lesson I started to create a bald cap which will be used in my final assessment in a month or so.  Here is how I did it..

To make the bald cap I used Cap-plastic (above) this is a very stick thick substance so I had to make sure I used a tough brush and had a cup of acetone near by to help dissolve the cap plastic in the brush bristles to prevent permanent damage to the brush.

1365959547929

First I had measure my clients head using cling film and tape to create a rough size guide for me to follow when making the bald cap. I then marked it out on a plastic head. I next applied a light layer of petroleum jelly to the plastic head to make the removal of the cap easier at the end. I then applied a light dusting of loose powder before painting on the cap plastic. I painting the plastic starting from front to back in big long strokes to create a smooth surface. Once dry (allow around 5-10 minutes) I then applied another layer of the plastic starting from one side stretching over to the other to create a warp and weft effect to strengthen the plastic. I continued this process until I had applied 8-10 layers of cap plastic bringing in the layers each time to create a thinner edge. The many layers also ensures the bald cap would be strong enough to apply to my models head.

If I was to do this again I would like to practice at painting on thicker, neater and longer strokes with a bigger brush to make it a little neater. Due to deadline timing I wouldn’t have time to practice doing another bald cap which is a shame as I always like to have a back up plan if the first cap doesn’t work first time round. I was quite shocked at how simple making a bald cap was as it needs to be tough enough to stretch and cover the hair but it also has to have thin edges in order to blend the plastic into the natural skin surface. Considering this was my first time making a bald cap I think it went pretty well.

Any questions? Just ask!

Thanks for reading!

Katy x

One thought on “Making Bald Caps

  1. Pingback: 16th Century Wig Dressing | Kathren Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

