Grecian Theater Assessment

2

Face:
Illamasqua Matte Primer – Buffed into cleansed and tones skin
MAC Studio Tech (NC15) & Illamasqua white foundation – Buffed into skin for full flawless coverage
Collection 2000 Concealer (1 fair) – Apply under eyes to conceal imperfections
15 Concealer Palette – Conceal to any imperfections
15 Concealer Palette – Dark brown corrector to create a heavy contour down the side of the nose under the chin, cheek bones and jaw and blend into the neck. Also work a little of dark brown under the tip of the nose and into the temples and around the forehead to give the face definition.
15 Concealer Palette – Light peachy tones to use as highlighter on the top of the cheeks and jaw line, across the forehead down the nose and on the chin. Emphasis the eyebrows by using a lighter tone above the outer part of the brow and on the brow bone.
No 7 blusher (Coral Flush) – Apply in circular motion to cheek bones.
Illamasqua Translucent Powder – Press onto skin using powder puff

Eyes:
Benefit Stay Don’t Stray Eye Primer – Apply all over lid
MAC eye shadow:
Orb  – Apply all over lid up to brow bone
Concrete and Eara – Apply into crease.
Concrete –fill in and define eyebrows.
Virgin Vie Black eye shadow –  Darken brows further. Exaggerate natural shape and bring to almost touch above the nose.
Marry B eyeliner (white) –Apply to lower waterline to open out the eye further.
MAC Gel Eyeliner (Black Track) – Apply to the upper lash line with an angled small brush making it thicker towards the outer corner of the eye creating a slight flick to extend the eye. Also apply a thin line under the white greasepaint to recreate a lower lash line making the eye appear bigger.
Maybelline Colossal Lash (Black) Apply to upper lash lines.

Lips:
15 Concealer Palette – Apply a lighter tone to the top of the lips to define the shape making them look fuller. A darker tone can also be used under the bottom lip to plump up the look of bottom lip.
Virgin Vie Snapdragon – Apply lightly all over lips to create a lip stain look

Grecian Theater Evaluation

Overall I was extremely happy with my final look as I felt the contouring was strong enough to stand out from a distance which is necessary for a theatrical look. I felt a little rushed throughout the assessment as I had been ambitious with my design as I wanted to include a hair piece to the look to give the hair that little bit more height to give a better silhouette on stage. However I think it went well as I managed to get the look finished in time. If I was to do the assessment again I would maybe plan my time a little better and calm down before starting the assessment as I felt quite stressed and worried that I wasn’t going to get the look completed or be able to complete it to the standard I wanted.

1

Make-up:
At first I was little confused as to which direction I should take my make-up look as I had noticed during my visual research that many make-up artists in TV and film had interpreted the Grecian look very differently as they had applied a very bronzed golden base which was not typically historically correct. From my research I had noticed that Grecian women were very fond of naturally pale looking skin as they used white lead washes and stayed out of direct sunlight whenever possible. So it was clear that I had to create a flawless pale base to my make-up look. I decided to practice the base prior to assessment to test which products would work best on my models skin. I was extremely glad I had done this as I created a base that was extremely pale by using a combination of Snazaroo white face paint and illamasqua white foundation base which had given me a ghostly white look which was far too pale for the Grecian ear as it was beginning to look like a different era such as 18th Century. For my next trail run I decided to stay clear of white based products and use a foundation that was a few shades paler than my models skin. This gave me a much better result as it was much for suited to the era and allowed the contouring and highlighting to stand out more. Unfortunately I had forgotten to take pictures of the first trial run however I have displayed images of the second practice of the theatrical base in my research. I also wanted to practice the eyebrow shape on my model as it was a key aspect to the Grecian make-up as big eyebrows meeting just above the nose was a very desirable feature to have. I didn’t seem to have a problem with the eyebrow shape as I spent a lot of time perfecting the shape to ensure the brows were strong enough for a theatrical look.
I had tried to research Grecian theatre productions however I was unable to find any visuals so I had to use my knowledge from the theatrical make-up assessment in semester one to try and adapt my Grecian look into a theatrical dramatic make-up in order to highlight the facial features and make the eyes appear that little bit bigger.
During the assessment time I completed the full make-up look whilst the heated rollers were setting to save me time in the long run as I wanted to spend a lot of time on the hair as it was a key part to the look. Overall I am extremely happy with the final look as I feel the contouring was strong enough and picked out the facial features well enough for a Grecian Theatrical look.

481963_10200358852568264_1383299840_n

Hair:
At first I was not confident in creating a historically correct Grecian style hair however after my research I had a better idea on what the style should look like as I had managed to gather some decent reference images and information. However I had to be careful not to blur historic references with modern interpretations of the style as it is still a very popular every day look. I mainly focused my research on statues from the era along with written information on what was popular at the time as I didn’t want to base my look on someone else’s interpretation of the era. During my research I had noticed that there were very different interpretations of the Grecian look as it had been adapted for film and TV for example a lot of the images included modern hair styled into Grecian looks which helped me a little as that was what I needed to do as my model had previously dyed her hair in a ombre style which was in the process of growing out. To combat this problem I tried my best to tuck away the unnatural colour to make my look more believable.

I have never worked with a hair piece before so was a little apprehensive as to what it would turn out like so I decided to have a practice run on attaching it to my models head before the actual assessment. During the test run I realised that I would have to add texture to the synthetic hair piece beforehand to make it easier to blend into my models natural hair. I then added pin curls to the hair piece and left it to dry over two days to ensure it was completely dry. This gave me a great result as I ended up with bouncy natural looking curls which would work perfectly with my models hair as I intended to use heated rollers to give texture, volume and curl to her hair.

When it came to doing the hair on assessment I was worried about the time frame given as I had to perfect the hair and make-up of my model which had taken me a long time during the practice runs as I also had to apply a full head of heated rollers and style the hair. However I had previously practice the roller set a few times before so was able to do it quite quickly. Overall I was extremely happy with the hair as the hair piece blended well and the heated rollers had taken to the hair extremely well as they created a natural looking bouncy curl.

Costume:
As part of my research I had looked into Grecian fashion which largely helped inspire me to create a costume to go alongside my look. I had decided to buy a couple of metres of gold tinted fabric to drape over my model to help tie in the hair accessory I intended to use. I also used a long length of white fabric to drape over my model to recreate a toga I then pinned it into place to ensure it was secure before I had lead my model to be finally assessed.

Feedback:
I was extremely happy and surprised with the feedback as it was largely positive which was a huge relief. I was praised on my research, brown shape and positioning, highlighting and contouring and lip colour. Lisa said I had done really well and should be pleased with the final result.

3

602801_10200358851888247_791953284_n
 To read more posts about this look just click the following links..

https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/wet-setting-synthetic-hair-pieces-grecian-theater-assessment/

https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/grecian-theater-hair-practice/

Theater Contouring Tutorial:
https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/large-theatre-make-up/

Thanks for reading! 

Katy x

Leave a Reply

