Grecian Theater Hair (Practice)

Grecian hair practice

For part of my media assignment I needed to create a theatrical historic look. I decided to choose a Grecian theme as I am a big fan of the Ancient Greek look as I think the hair looked beautiful along with the fashion which is still present in recent trends such as the Grecian style maxi dresses you tend to get in summer. I decided to have a play around with hair pieces to give the hair some more height as my look had to be suitable for theater so it had to be more exaggerated than a normal TV look.

Bex (my beautiful model) Naturally has shoulder length thick hair so I want to add more length to her hair so I decided to add a hair piece.

small grecian hairpiece

I have never worked with a hair piece before so this was purely experimental. The hair piece consisted of a long weft of hair that had been wound round and stitched to secure it also had a hair clip already attached however more hair grips will be needed to secure the hair piece to the head.

I first set Bex’s hair in rollers to see a detailed tutorial of how to do this just click the following link:
https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/setting-hair-heated-rollers/

Grecian hair practice media hair

The only difference with hair set was the direction of the rollers on the front of the head as I wanted to create a tighter curl which I could then pull back to give a twisted effect on the front of the head. Once the rollers were cool I could then begin to dress the hair into the desired style. Bex’s hair had taken extremely well to the rollers so that made my job that little bit easier! The more you do a heated roller set the more you get an understanding of how much product to use to maintain that curl for as long as possible.

For the first part of the up do I tied up the back half of Bex’s hair to pull it up from the neck and up towards the top of the head as I need to give height to the hair. I then positioned the hair piece above the pony tail and secured the U clips. As the hair piece was straight at the time i decided to do a series of pin curls to give a curlier look as wavy or curly hair was favored by Grecian people. I then pulled back the curls at the front of the head and pin curled them to make the up-do even more curly looking.

I then two strips of gold ribbon around the head to make it look that little bit more Grecian.

Grecian hair practice media hair

Overall I am very happy with this trial run as I now know what I need to do to improve on the look for example pre-curl the hairpiece to make it easier to pin curl. Also I think it would look a lot better if the hair hanging down at the back had a slight curl to it too. If I was to do this hair style again on a model with longer hair I may not even use a hair piece as it may be possible to use the models own hair to create the needed volume the hair. During this trial run I have learned which hair set I need to use in order to get the desired curl as heated rollers are the perfect size to create volume as well as give the hair a looser curl that heat sticks.

I’ll be doing a post on the wet set pin curls I will do on the hair piece to improve this Grecian look soon. Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading!

Katy x

Leave a Reply

