Television Adaptation

Image

The make-up on afternoon television programs such as ‘The X Factor’ and ‘Strictly Come Dancing’ The traditional style of Television make-up has been adapted to have a much more dramatic effect as contestants are often supporting eye catching looks such as deep red lips and smoky eyes. Different materials such as rhinestones, sequins and glitter are often used as these materials can be very effective as they draw attention to the performer due to the lighting on stage.

For my TV adaptation I decided to create a makeup for an evening show presenter so I didn’t want to do anything too glamorous and over the top as it may be a little distracting for the viewers. I decided to apply a dramatic red lip and a simplistic but defined eye that would still stand out on camera but would not clash with the strength of the red lip. As for the brows I originally wanted to fill them in a few shades darker however my model uses a black liquid liner to fill in her brows which really already suits her so I left the brows as they were. However I did apply a white eye shadow on the brow bone to define the brows. The application of the make-up ran quite smoothly and I am overall happy with the end result.

Image

First I buffed Illamasqua Matte Primer into the skin pre-cleansed and toned skin to create a clean base. I then used MAC Studio Tech (NC15) which I also buffed into the skin using a medium sized flat buffing brush. To get a flawless base I then used a 15 Concealer Palette by Fraulein (which I purchased from Amazon.co.uk for around £6) and used colour theory to correct any skin imperfections that the foundation had failed to cover such as blemishes and dark circles. If you would like to know more about using colour theory to correct imperfections just click the following link –https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/concealing-imperfections-with-the-colour-theory-correction-method/. To set the foundation I used Illamasqua loose translucent powder which I pressed onto the skin with a powder puff using a rolling motion.

Once I was happy with the base I then moved onto the eye make-up. First I used my finger to apply an all over lid coverage of Benefit’s Stay Don’t Stray Eye Primer. I then used a flat eye shadow brush to apply MAC’s Orb eye shadow all over the lid to brighten up the eye. Next I applied Virgin V Beige eye shadow to the crease making sure I blended it well with a fluffy blending brush. Next I added a darker brown eye shadow by Virgin V to further darken the crease of the eye. Although I wanted to keep the eyes fresh looking but still wanted them to be defined so I used Rimmel Black liquid eye liner to line the upper lash line before adding the thick false lashes (Eylure Girls Aloud collection – Cheryl). I created a little cat eyed flick to open the eye up and make it look that little bit more dramatic. before applying the lashes I also applied a couple of layers of Maybelline Colossal Lashes (Black) as this helps the lashes blend with the heavy black lashes.

To give the face a little more definition I used MAC Bronzer underneath the cheek bones and jaw line, although this is subtle it does make a difference on camera. I also wanted to add a bit more colour to the face, for this I gently dusted MAC blusher in the colour Cubic to the apples of my client’s cheeks to give her face a little more life. To apply this product I asked my client to give me a cheesy grin so I could locate the apples of her cheeks easier this also creates a more even look.

For the lips I followed the natural lip line with MAC lip liner (Cherry) and then used a small lip brush to apply Rimmel’s Kate Moss collection (kiss of life) all over the lips to create a classic red lip. I love this look and think its great for special occasions.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Katy xx

Leave a Reply

