Scratch – using Snazaroo wax, face paint and basic matte eye shadows

psejiopsdfopdfhopdfgh1cvzxcvzxcv

This look was simply an experiment so it may not be the easiest or correct way to use the products but I think it worked out okay in the end. When I was playing around with the look I had a werewolf scratch in mind however I recently adapted this technique into a slit throat effect which worked quite well as the products I used are very durable and flexible. I also recently carried out a similar method but using liquid latex on a client who was attending a Halloween party as ‘little dead riding hood’ which worked well with the whole concept.  I’ll do a post about that later on in my Work Experience section for you to have a nosey at if you’d like to  =]

 

jhbl

I began by using a red lip liner to define the shape of each scratch to help guide me when applying the wax. Once I was happy with the shape of the scratches I then introduced the wax by scraping some of it out of the pot with the backend of a brush as I didn’t have a spatula handy and rolled it into thin sausage shapes and applied it along the red guide line. Once I had framed the scratch I then used my fingers to blend the wax outwards. You could also use a little spatula to blend the wax  as it may be easier as the wax can be very sticky once it has warmed up with the body’s temperature  Once I have happy with the blending of the wax I then used Snazaroo red face paint to paint the inside of the scratch as a base coat of paint.

Next I added depth by using the black in the centre of the scratches as black makes it look more indented as darker colours such as blacks and browns are often used to shade areas of the face to be smaller or more defined for example, a soft grey can be used to hollow out the cheeks on a zombie look. To bring any features of the makeup further forwards you may want to apply lighter colours as it stands out more so the eye sees it first creating an illusion of 3D depth.  However I didn’t use any highlighting on this look as I felt the wax was pale enough and I didn’t want to diminish the flesh colour of the wax as I thought it worked rather well.

Next I focused on the shading around the scratches as I wanted to make it look infected and a little swollen. For this I used a combination of matte eye shadows, I used:  red, burgundy, beige and brown around the wax as I didn’t want to use it over the wax as it was acting as a highlighter as well as imitating torn peeled skin. I also used these colours to make the rest of my face dirty and ill from the infection.

Next I applied a thin coverage of lash adhesive into the middle of the scratch a left it for a few seconds to get tacky. Once the glue was sticky I placed a little cotton wool to add texture. I then I worked over the cotton wool with the Snazaroo red and black face paint. For a final touch I used a dark red lips gloss to replicate blood. You could always make your own fake blood from the recipe I recently learned in a special effects lesson just click the following link. https://kathrenelizabethmakeup.wordpress.com/2012/10/20/fake-blood/

vbzfbzxcvb-horz

To Remove: oil based cleansers or Ben Nye’s Bond Off

2 thoughts on “Scratch – using Snazaroo wax, face paint and basic matte eye shadows

  1. Since you seem to have experience working with various waxes, I was wondering if you could tell me of the three (Pierce Plasto Naturo, Ben Nye Nose and Scar Wax, or Snazaroo wax), which is the softest consistency. I am looking for a wax softer than Ben Nye. Thank you.

    • Hey Laura, I haven’t had chance to experiment with Ben Nye Waxes yet I’m afraid. However I do have a special effects lesson tomorrow so I’ll be sure to ask my tutor! I’m quite interested to know also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

